Missouri Congressional Map Passed Leaves Taney County in 7th District

    Congressional Map Photo from the Mo House of Representative Website

    While Congressional Map finally passed by the Missouri Legislature did split a southwest Missouri County into two districts, it was not Taney County.

    Several of the maps passed by both the House and Senate during the session would have moved most of Taney County to the 8th District while Branson and some of the surrounding area would have stayed in the 7th District. 

    The compromise map passed by the House this week put all of Taney County again in the 7th District while it will split Webster County east of Springfield between the 7th and  4th Districts. 

    In a press release, Lakes Area State Representative Brian Seitz said there was a debate when looking at the House map which included an amendment that would have once again split Taney County. Seitz states in the release that he debated against the amendment and the majority of the House agreed voting it down on a voice vote. Other Lakes Region Counties will remain in their current districts with Barry and Stone along with Taney remaining in the 7th District and Ozark County remaining in the 8th. 

    The Senate passed the map before adjourning and it will now be sent to the Governor for his signature. 

    More from Local News

    Our Family of Stations


    Today's Weather

    • Branson

      Sunny intervals

      High: 68°F | Low: 54°F

    Upcoming Show Schedules